K-TREND | March.27.2024

The Rising K-Pop Sensation: ITZY's Album Journey

On February 12, 2019, a five-member girl group under JYP Entertainment named ITZY made their debut. The group's name, ITZY, carries the meaning "Do you have everything you want? We have!" in Korean. Their unique greeting, "All in Us!" is performed by crossing hands to form a 'V' and then an 'Z', inspired by the hand movements in the nursery rhyme “Itsy Bitsy Spider”, thanks to member Ryujin's creative idea.



Debut Date

- South Korea: February 12, 2019 

- United States:  January 22, 2021 

- Japan: December 22, 2021 

Debut Album: Mini Album 1 IT'z Different

Leader: Yeji

Genres: Dance, Rap/Hip-Hop, Rock Music, House

Company: JYP Entertainment

Agency: Republic Records

Fandom Name: MIDZY



1st Mini Album: "IT'z ICY"

Released on July 29, 2019, "IT'z ICY" marks ITZY's first foray into the music scene. The album's title track, “ICY” is a summer anthem that showcases the members' fiery passion beneath a cool exterior. It captures ITZY's confidence and dreams, making a bold statement during the hot summer months.



2nd Mini Album: "IT'z ME"

On March 9, 2020, ITZY released their second mini album, "IT'z ME". This album includes seven tracks, featuring a mix of high-energy beats and empowering lyrics that further establish ITZY's vibrant and confident image.



3rd Mini Album: "Not Shy"

Released on August 17, 2020, "Not Shy" is ITZY's third mini album, featuring the title track of the same name. This upbeat R&B dance song embodies the group's fearless and straightforward approach to expressing love, serving up a refreshing burst of energy akin to a fizzy drink.



4th Mini Album: "GUESS WHO"

“Guess Who”, ITZY's fourth mini album released on April 30, 2021, brings forth the hit single “Mafia In the morning”. This track highlights each member's unique personality and presents a confident message of love with a twist, inspired by the game Mafia.



5th Mini Album: ”CHECKMATE”

On July 15, 2022, "CHECKMATE" was unveiled as ITZY's fifth mini album. Featuring a lineup of seven tracks including the lead single “SNEAKERS”, the album showcases ITZY's musical charm, bolstered by contributions from renowned domestic and international music producers.



6th Mini Album: “CHESHIRE“

The sixth mini album, “CHESHIRE”, was released on November 30, 2022. It includes four tracks, among them “Cheshire”, the title song. The album mixes various musical styles, from sampling Beethoven to incorporating punk elements, all while maintaining ITZY's bold and honest lyrical style.



7th Mini Album: ”KILL MY DOUBT”

“KILL MY DOUBT”, ITZY's seventh mini album released on July 31, 2023, features the standout track “CAKE”. This song encapsulates ITZY's cool and hip charm over an addictive melody, offering a message of overcoming life's obstacles with light-hearted courage.



8th Mini Album: “BORN TO BE“

Released on January 8, 2024, "BORN TO BE" is ITZY's latest mini album, featuring the powerful title track “UNTOUCHABLE”. The song's message of facing the world's challenges together is backed by a compelling mix of EDM and strong guitar riffs, adding to the track's energetic sound.



From their impactful debut to the latest release, ITZY has consistently delivered music that combines energetic beats with empowering messages. Through their albums, ITZY invites listeners to embrace their true selves and face challenges with confidence. As they continue to evolve and grow, ITZY's journey in the K-pop industry is undoubtedly one to watch.


Related Merchandise

View More Details

View More Details

View More Details

View More Details